Making simple cheese

FROM ANDREW’S KITCHEN — So I finally finished the semester. Obviously the first thing I had to do when I got back home was to make some cheese.

Well, to be honest I told Jason a couple weeks ago that I was going to do it, however I believe he shrugged it off because he thinks me a shit-talker.

My first step was to procure a viable recipe for a cheesemaking novice like me. A food blog that I frequent actually had a great recipe that was simple enough.


Here are the following ingredients required in the above recipe.
1 quart whole milk pasteurized (not ultra pasteurized)
1 cup active-culture buttermilk
2 tsp lemon juice or white vinegar, more if needed
3/4 tsp salt, or to taste

Here are some pictures from my adventures:
I set up a skype call so Jason could watch via compy. He took some screens, so maybe he will post them later on.
Jason watching via skype.
The last few curds.
Last few curds.
Draining the whey from the curds.
Draining via cheese cloth
Letting it dry.
More draining.
Finished product!
Finished!

JASON’S EDIT: Andrew isn’t telling you the whole story. He made a real production out of this, and at times he kept shouting, “BAM!” into the webcam while doing an Egyptian strut back and forth.

Okay, so that’s a little exaggeration. But he was blasting, alternately, metal and Vivaldi.

cheese01

Here he is stirring the milk to get it to 175 degrees.

cheese02

Here he is playing an air violin along to The Four Seasons.

cheese03

Adding lemon juice.

cheese05

And finally, staring lovingly at his own reflection on the pan’s shiny metal surface.

Leave a Reply

