Music Monday: Daft Punk and James Brown

1. Daft Punk – Something About Us

2. James Brown – People Get Up and Drive Your Funky Soul

Both of these tracks have relaxing, funky syncopation, and both have been in constant rotation for the past month or so on my iPod. Something About Us is an overlooked Interstella 5555 track has just the right low-keyed mix of 70s soul and electronic masking for my taste. People Get Up and Drive Your Funky Soul has all that brass I like so much, with competing trumpets.

Both do something I normally hate – they get a little repetitive in theme. But in these two specific cases, there is a driving groove that erases that problem. I’ve found myself loading these two up to get me moving in the morning, to push me through the mundane chores I’ve been doing to keep sane whilst unemployed.

BTW, I have a job lined up in two weeks. It’s nothing flashy – billing – but it will help pay my bills.

One Response to Music Monday: Daft Punk and James Brown

  1. Ro says:

    Damn, Jason, you are awesome!

    I’m not trying to be a fan girl or “yes” girl, but seriously whatever you write on here, I can’t help but 199% whole-heartedly agree with you.

    I remember when I had niothing but that Daft Punk album playing in my car for months, not to mention that track on repeat.

    I would especially put that track on for when I had a really stressful day at work and had to drive through crap traffic. This is one of those songs that would just put me in an overall better mood about life and make me think about my significant other and just smile.

    Congrats on your job! See, we told you things would get better for you! ^_^

Leave a Reply

